Licensing Rules To Drive A 50cc Scooter

FGK Law 600x319

Licensing Rules To Drive A 50cc Scooter

Scooter Sizes

Scooters come in all shapes, sizes and speeds. This type of adult transportation was made for people to get to their destination along city streets while enjoying the fresh air in their faces. Equipped with a motor, a scooter gives a gentler ride to the driver who isn’t looking to have a motorcycle to tear up the highway asphalt.

When it comes to scooters, you can have a motorized one with an engine offering 50cc, about the equivalent of 30 mph. While it’s not as fast as a car, it will still definitely get you down the road. The only problem is that a police officer may be waiting at the end of that road to give you a citation.

The Laws for Scooters Vary

Different states have different rules when it comes to driving a scooter. Most states consider a 50cc scooter as a moped, so you can contact your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles about the specific regulations for mopeds depending on the age of the driver. Some of the license requirements for certain states are:

  • Drivers who are 15 years of age or older need a special type of moped permit or valid driver’s license;
  • Drivers of scooters cannot operate the vehicle on the interstate. They must drive to the far right of the roadway so they won’t interfere with the traffic flow of other motorists;
  • Some states require vehicle registration, insurance and rear license plates;
  • If the scooter at any time goes over 30mph, it may be considered a motorcycle in certain states and fall under all the same regulations as motorcycle operators;
  • Several states require helmets and eye protection. This is just commonsense even if you are not required to wear such safety protection;
  • States such as Virginia require the scooter to have headlights, brake lights and turn signals. Some states, such as Pennsylvania, require foot pedals;
  • You may be restricted to daylight driving only depending on where you live;

Because the licensing rules are so varied between states, you should get as much information as you can about the regulations before taking your scooter out on the road. Also, don’t just assume that the regulations in your state will apply in another state if you take your scooter across state lines.

Once you have the required licensing, strap on your helmet, pull on your ankle-length boots and hit the open road. Never become discouraged over some of the licensing rules in your area. These regulations are to keep you safe on the road and to help you avoid the possibility of being involved in a serious accident. If you keep to the regulations, you will have tons on fun riding on your scooter.